Categories
Reviews

You had me at Hola by Alexis Daria, #75 review

Publication date: 4 August 2020

RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers.

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. 

Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars. 

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.



Hola bienvenida (feminine)/ bienvenido (masculine), welcome to my review of You had me at Hola. Thank you to MPH distributors for sending me an ebook in exchange for an honest review. This book is available at their bookstore.

The story starts out with our Leading Lady – Jasmine at her grandmother’s house spending time with her grandmother and her cousins. In a Latin household, family is everything. I like how her cousins are her best friends, it showcases that no one knows you better than family. After a very public breakup with a rockstar, Jasmine and her cousins hatched the “Leading Lady Plan” to get her reputation and acting career on track to Hollywood Stardom. Starting with her starring role in a bilingual romantic Latinx comedy for the number one streaming service in the country. The path is laid out for her, now all she needs to do is set her head straight, march down the road without detouring to the distractions. Say…Her super hot famous telenovela costar?

Ashton Suarez was killed off. In his last telenovela.New to the American acting industry, Ashton is here to bring to the table his admirable acting skills and hulk visual qualities. However, he distances himself from his Latin cast due to a past trauma a few years ago that still haunts him. His PTSD makes him anxious about opening up his personal life to his cast members in fear of them selling his secrets to the paps.

“Crushes were fleeting .Family teasing was forever.”

You had me at Hola by Alexis Daria



For an adult romance novel, a genre I rarely read for the love interests are often a wrong portrayal of a non-fiction romantic relationship. I find that this book is quite wholesome. You have family, colleagues to friends, community, slow-burn romance, mental health awareness and a detailedly written behind the scenes of how Hollywood shoots their production. For those interested in trying out this genre, I suggest you start here. It is not too big of a bite to take, the build-up is okay in my opinion. It is a morsel in comparison to the other more exclusive erotic novels that I came across in reviews.

Things that I don’t like:



-the chemistry between Jasmine and Ashton
I do not like how the author does not include conversations between them that show their personality. They do have their cutesy moments but I feel that it is lacking in more fluff. This pillow needs more fluff added. It is too thin. Which makes their chemistry thin out a little when they are in a heated sexual moment or heated angry argument. Like, the two characters KNOW each other, BUT we don’t get to SEE them KNOW each other. I felt that we were robbed of quality dialogue.

Things I do like:



-consent
This is a great message to be included because many people will forget to ask for consent. They will TAKE IT by force. During shooting intimate scenes, the two leading protagonists have to participate in requesting consent from one another before acting out the steamy choreographed scenes. I do like the author drew attention that in the film industry, not many actors and actress get the privilege of asking/giving consent for intimate scenes and they do not have the safety zone where they know they can pull out at any time if they are uncomfortable. Always ask for consent. And YOU have the right to decline or stop midway because it is YOUR BODY.

-family
I love how it started with Jasmine and her cousins AND ended with Jasmine and her cousins. Not with her new cast friends or her lover. Rather, with family. Because family will always be there to tease you forever.

Gotta flex that I have a matching dress with Jasmine😂

By elysianbooksish

The Bookish Faerie who loves to read and write, and bake too

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s