Categories
Reviews

Hitsuji to Hagane no Mori (The Forest of Wool and Steel) by Natsu Miyashita, #31 review

Publication date : September 2014 What he experienced that day wasn’t life-changing . . . It was life-making. Tomura is startled by the hypnotic sound of a piano being tuned in his school. It seeps into his soul and transports him to the forests, dark and gleaming, that surround his beloved mountain village. From that […]

Categories
Books

Under Rose-tainted Skies by Louise Gornall, #30 review

Publication date: 7 July 2016 At seventeen, Norah has accepted that the four walls of her house delineate her life. She knows that fearing everything from inland tsunamis to odd numbers is irrational, but her mind insists the world outside is too big, too dangerous. So she stays safe inside, watching others’ lives through her […]

Categories
Books

Lady Smoke(Ash Princess Trilogy #2)by Laura Sebastian, #29 review

Publication date: 5 February 2019 The sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller that was “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” ( Bustle ), Lady Smoke is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people. The Kaiser murdered Theodosia’s mother, the Fire Queen, […]

Categories
Books

American Royals (American Royals #1) by Katharine Mcgee, #28 review

Publication date: 3 September 2019 What if America had a royal family? When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on the throne. As Princess Beatrice gets closer to becoming America’s first queen regnant, the duty she […]

Categories
Reviews

How to Make Friends with the Dark by Kathleen Glasgow, #27 review

Publication date: 9 April 2019 Here is what happens when your mother dies. It’s the brightest day of summer and it’s dark outside. It’s dark in your house, dark in your room, and dark in your heart. You feel like the darkness is going to split you apart. That’s how it feels for Tiger. It’s […]

Categories
Reviews

Book detailsThe Girl the Sea Gave Back(Sky in the Deep #2)by Adrienne Young, #26 review

Publication date: 3 September 2019 The new gut-wrenching epic from the New York Times bestselling author of Sky in the Deep. For as long as she can remember, Tova has lived among the Svell, the people who found her washed ashore as a child and use her for her gift as a Truthtongue. Her own home […]

Categories
Reviews

A Throne of Swans(A Throne of Swans #1)by Katharine Corr & Elizabeth Corr, #25 review

Publication date: 9 January 2020 In a world where the flightless are ruled by those who can fly… When her father dies just before her birthday, seventeen-year-old Aderyn inherits the role of Protector of Atratys, a dominion in a kingdom where nobles are able to transform at will into the bird that represents their family […]

Categories
Reviews

Thorn by by Intisar Khanani, #24 review

Publication date: 24 March 2020 Between her cruel family and the contempt she faces at court, Princess Alyrra has always longed to escape the confines of her royal life. But when she’s betrothed to the powerful prince Kestrin, Alyrra embarks on a journey to his land with little hope for a better future. When a […]

Categories
Reviews

The Last Paper Crane by Kerry Drewery, #23 review

Publication date: 2 April 2020 One thousand paper cranes to achieve your heart’s desire. 1945, Hiroshima: Ichiro is a teenage boy relaxing at home with his friend Hiro. Moments later there is a blinding fl ash as the horrifi c nuclear bomb is dropped. With great bravery the two boys fi nd Hiro’s fi veyear-old […]

Categories
Reviews

When the World didn’t End by Caroline Kaufman, #22 review

Publication date: 20 August 2019 Teen Instagram sensation and author of Light Filters In @poeticpoison returns with a second collection of short, powerful poems about love, forgiveness, self-discovery, and what it’s like living after a hard-fought battle with depression, in the vein of poetry collections like Milk and Honey and the princess saves herself in […]