Categories
Reviews

One of Us Is Lying(One of Us is Lying #1)by Karen M. McManus, #37 review

Publication date : 30 May 2017 The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars, One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide. Pay close attention and you might solve this. On […]

Categories
Reviews

The Feminist Agenda of Jemima Kincaidby Kate Hattemer, #36 review

Publication date: 18 Feburary 2020 A novel about friendship, feminism, and the knotty complications of tradition and privilege, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Stephanie Perkins. Jemima Kincaid is a feminist, and she thinks you should be one too. Her private school is laden with problematic traditions, but the worst of all is prom. […]

Categories
Reviews

Raybearerby Jordan Ifueko, #35 review

Book publication: 4 April 2020 She was raised in isolation by a mysterious, often absent mother known only as The Lady. The Lady sends her to the capital of the global empire of Aritsar to compete with other children to be chosen as one of the Crown Prince’s Council of 11. If she’s picked, she’ll […]

Categories
Reviews

The Friends We Keep by Jane GreenThe Friends We Keepby Jane Green, #34 review

Publication date : 4 June 2019 The Friends We Keep is the warm and wise new novel from Jane Green, New York Times bestselling author of The Sunshine Sisters and The Beach House Evvie, Maggie, and Topher have known each other since university. Their friendship was something they swore would last forever. Now years have passed, the friends have drifted apart, and […]

Categories
Books Wrap Up

How many books did I read in January?

Let me just start with a clap cause ya gurl was moving mountains this January while the world is in chaos. I’m not kidding about the world is in chaos part. It is only January and wow, I’m exhausted. We have a literal list of catastrophic events. Everyone, please wear a mask when you go […]

Categories
Reviews

DROPKICKromanceBook by Cyrus Parker, #33 review

Publication date: 2018 “dropkick this broken heart and make it feel again.” From pro-wrestler-turned-poet Cyrus Parker comes a poetic memoir that tells the tale of two relationships. The first half of DROPKICKromance focuses on a toxic, long-distance relationship the author was involved in for several years, while the second half focuses on Parker’s current relationship […]

Categories
Reviews

Divan of Shah by Shah Rizvi, #32 Review

Publication date: 31 October 2019 The Divan of Shah represents an unconscious longing for union within. The author tapped into the collective unexplored and perhaps his own realm of dreams. He ascribed those thoughts and feelings into poetry. This one is a thoughtful collection of poetic lines that invites the reader into the dimension of […]

Categories
Reviews

Hitsuji to Hagane no Mori (The Forest of Wool and Steel) by Natsu Miyashita, #31 review

Publication date : September 2014 What he experienced that day wasn’t life-changing . . . It was life-making. Tomura is startled by the hypnotic sound of a piano being tuned in his school. It seeps into his soul and transports him to the forests, dark and gleaming, that surround his beloved mountain village. From that […]

Categories
Books

Under Rose-tainted Skies by Louise Gornall, #30 review

Publication date: 7 July 2016 At seventeen, Norah has accepted that the four walls of her house delineate her life. She knows that fearing everything from inland tsunamis to odd numbers is irrational, but her mind insists the world outside is too big, too dangerous. So she stays safe inside, watching others’ lives through her […]

Categories
Books

Lady Smoke(Ash Princess Trilogy #2)by Laura Sebastian, #29 review

Publication date: 5 February 2019 The sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller that was “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” ( Bustle ), Lady Smoke is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people. The Kaiser murdered Theodosia’s mother, the Fire Queen, […]